Committees of the Assembly

Assembly committees are designed to bring smaller groups of people together for a specific function or purpose, while still remaining subordinate and reporting back to the Assembly. All meetings of Assembly committees are open to the public. Certain committees may offer specific times and topics in which citizens may provide comment as outlined in Fairbanks North Star Borough Code. However, a majority of the committees do not. 

Any Assemblymember not specifically appointed to a committee may still attend, participate and debate (but not vote) at any Assembly committee meeting, except for the Finance Committee in which case any Assemblymember may vote on any matter.

  1. Finance Committee
  2. Committee of the Whole
  3. Audit Committee
  4. Assembly Road Service Area Committee
  5. Regional Emergency Services Advisory Committee

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee is a standing committee of the Assembly that meets twice per month to review all ordinances of a financial nature and other items referred to the committee, to review and make recommendations regarding the Capital Improvement Program (CIP), and to hear presentations and reports. In April, this committee meets to review the Borough Mayor's recommended budget for the next fiscal year and make recommendations to the Assembly. The committee also has the authority to award contracts or modifications to contracts when the amount exceeds $100,000.

Kristan Kelly, ChairKristan.Kelly@fnsb.gov907-687-1262
Brett Rotermund, Vice ChairBrett.Rotermund@fnsb.gov907-378-2512
David GuttenbergDavid.Guttenberg@fnsb.gov907-388-0194
Scott CrassScott.Crass@fnsb.gov907-251-0800
Barbara HaneyBarbara.Haney@fnsb.gov907-347-5109